Bayside Secondary School enjoys successful fall sports season

This story was published in the Winter 2023 issue of Total Sports Quinte magazine

With the return of high school sports to a more regular schedule this fall, the Bayside Secondary School Devils enjoyed tremendous success.

Accomplishments, both as teams and individuals, were achieved in cross-country running, football, golf, rugby, soccer and more.

Bayside’s senior boys cross country team won the Central Ontario Secondary School Athletics (COSSA) championship and advanced to the Ontario Federation of School Athletic Associations (OFSAA) provincial meet Nov. 5 in Uxbridge.

Bayside’s Tamara Singaraja competed at OFSAA cross country as an individual in the senior girls division.

As a team, Bayside placed 15th out of 35 entries in the senior boys 6K race with 488 points as teams aim for lowest point possible based on their four competing runners (the top four from regional meet). Tristan Daoust placed 23rd followed by Andrew Lupenette (76th), Griffin Wanless (169th) and Kidan Singer (220th) out of 245 runners.

Meanwhile, Bayside’s Tamara Singaraja qualified for OFSAA as an individual. She had placed eighth overall at the COSSA race and as one of the fastest individuals not on a qualifying team ultimately earned a berth at the provincial championships. At OFSAA, Singaraja placed 140th out of 240 entrants in the senior girls 6K race.

In football, Bayside won what’s believed to be its first Bay of Quinte championship at the senior level in school history. They lost the COSSA senior AAA championship game to Peterborough’s Thomas A. Stewart, which went on to the OFSAA Independent Bowl against St. Michael’s College, but it was a very successful season for the Devils.

Members of the Bay of Quinte champion senior boys football team were: Dawson Alexander, Antonio Armstrong, Kaleb Ashby, Reid Boomhower, Joel Brough, Guglielmo Ciotti, Joey Clark-Gaudet, Walker Forsythe, McKenzie Fraser, Noah Frick, Evan Henry, Jacob Henry, Lukas Horner, Addison Leaver, Brock Leaver, Isaiah Lockwood, Joseph Long, Declan MacArthur, Jordan McLaughlin, Braeden Melanson, Eric Mountenay, Declan Phillips, Ryerson Pierce, Jack Prophet, Troy Bertrand, William Scott, Chrstian Streek, Felix Stubbe, Drayden Sylvester, Maxwell Tootle, Jadyn Zajac and Lance Zufelt.
Russell Aide was the COSSA golf gold and competed at the OFSAA provincial championship.

Russell Aide, meanwhile, represented Bayside at the OFSAA boys golf championship in London Oct. 12 and 13.

Aide, a Grade 10 student, won COSSA gold at Barcovan Golf Club after chipping in for birdie on the 18th hole to force a playoff. He finished ninth overall at OFSAA, shooting an 80 in both rounds, despite some difficult weather conditions.

Bayside’s senior girls rugby team won both the Bay of Quinte and COSSA championships in the fall and have qualified for the provincial tournament in the spring.

Following a 7-0 unbeaten record in regular season play, they defeated Centennial 5-0 in the Bay of Quinte final and Lindsay’s I.E. Weldon in the COSSA ‘AAA’ final.

The OFSAA girls AAA rugby championship in scheduled for June 5 to 7 in Bolton.

Members of the Bayside senior girls rugby team that won COSSA and has qualified for the OFSAA championship are: Abby Aikman, Aleyna Avery, Faith Ayres, Brooklyn Bancroft, Alliyah Bleecker, Sadie Booker Morphet, Victoria Carriere-Toussaint, Sarah-Mae Cross, Lily Davidson, Hailea Garrity, Jayde Giffen, Misty Goulet, Jennifer Keller, Demafia Kemka, Katie Lott, Mayan Mackinnon, Lizzt MacSween, Kieran Martin, Holly McMaster, Val Prevost, Abby Reed, Grace Ricard, Madi Sinclair and Arianna Wease.

In senior boys soccer, Bayside won the COSSA ‘AA’ championship, defeating Peterborough’s Adam Scott Collegiate in the final.

OFSAA soccer is also held in the spring and the boys ‘AA’ tournament is scheduled for June 8 to 10 in Bradford.

Watch for more at on Bayside teams that head to the OFSAA championships this spring.

Members of the Bayside senior boys soccer team that won COSSA and qualified for OFSAA this spring are: Dylan Chatwood, Krish Chudasma, Bailey DeBoer, Maxime Nolet, Nicolai Ohlert, Jack Orr, Aidan Paladiuk, Reade Pringle, Xander Reid, Jared Rutherford, Kevin Salaudeen, Jeonghun Shin, Chiyo Song, Dean Spry, Joseph Thiessen, Cameron White, Peter Zavos and Peter Tsarouhas.